A Dane County judge has approved an agreement setting recall election dates of May 8th and June 5th for Governor Scott Walker, Lieutenant Governor Rebecca Kleefisch and four Republican state senators. Under the agreement, any required primaries would be held May 8 with a general election four weeks later on June 5. Meanwhile, the 2011-12 Legislative session officially ended on March 16th.This signals the serious beginning of the campaign season. All 99 Assembly seats and 16 Senate seats (those in even numbered districts) were already scheduled to be on the fall ballot. One Senator facing recall, Senator Pam Galloway, has resigned for personal reasons. However the recall election against her will still take place to pick her replacement. In addition to Senator Galloway, a number of other legislators in both houses have announced their retirement or intention to seek other offices.

Those retiring include:

• Rep. Barbara Toles of the 17th District.
• Rep. Mark Radcliffe of the 92nd District.
• Rep. Dick Spanbauer of the 53rd District.
• Rep. Bob Ziegelbauer of the 25th District.
• Rep. Dan Meyer of the 34th District.
• Rep. Michelle Litjens of the 56th District.
• Rep. Karl Van Roy of the 90th District.
• Senator Jim Holperin of the 12th District.

Those seeking another office include:

• Rep. Donna Seidel of the 85th District and Rep. Jerry Petrowski of the 86th District to run in the recall election for
the Galloway seat.

• Rep. Tom Tiffany of the 35th District is expected to announce his bid at Senator Jim Holperin’s open 12th District Senate seat.

• Assembly Speaker Jeff Fitzgerald of the 39th District to run for the U.S. Senate seat being vacated by Senator Herb Kohl.

• Reps. Kelda Helen Roys of the 81st District and Mark Pocan of the 78th District to run for the 2nd Congressional
District seat being vacated by U.S. Rep. Tammy Baldwin.

• Senators Spencer Coggs of the District and Tim Carpenter of the District to run for Milwaukee City Treasurer.

• Senator Kathleen Vinehout of the 31st District to run against Gov. Walker in the recall election. The 31st District seat
is not up for election this year, so should her run for Governor be unsuccessful, she would retain her current seat.


Groups representing public employee unions, teachers and state, and local government employees have submitted petitions asking for the recall of Wisconsin Governor Scott Walker, Lieutenant Governor Rebecca Kleefisch, and four Republican state senators. They include Scott Fitzgerald of Juneau, Van Wanggaard of Racine, Pam Galloway from the Wausau area, and Terry Moulton from the Chippewa Falls area. The Government Accountability Board must now review the petitions to see if there will be enough signatures to place the Governor and the four Republican Senators on the ballot. The Board has placed copies of the petitions online and has asked for additional time to review them. If recalls are successful, the timing of elections is uncertain.